Colorado Auto Insurance
Living in the Centennial State is a dream come true for millions of Coloradoans, with its stately mountains, wide-open spaces, and vast selection of outdoor activities. But driving in Colorado can be challenging at times, especially during the winter months and/or on winding mountain roads. Since no one is immune from being involved in an auto accident, state officials require that all Colorado drivers maintain auto insurance coverage at all times.
Auto insurance rates in Colorado can vary more than you might think from one insurance company to another. That’s where Auto Insurance Specialists can help!
Try our simple form for an AIS Instant Quote®. This quote will be a range of our auto insurance partners' rates for the coverage you select and you can pick the price you like, too.
Required Auto Insurance in Colorado
Liability insurance is mandatory in the state of Colorado. This type of coverage protects all other drivers in the event that your actions or negligence causes an accident. In this case, your insurance would pay for medical expenses incurred by anyone else injured in the accident, as well as compensate victims for lost wages and possibly even monetary damages like pain and suffering. It would also cover damages to other vehicles and property. All liability insurance policies in Colorado must be written for limits that equal or exceed statutory minimums.
State Minimum Liability Coverage in Colorado:
- BI or Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
- PD or Property Damage: $15,000 per accident
To learn more about specific auto insurance coverage, visit our Car Insurance Coverage page.
Optional Coverage in Colorado to Consider
In addition to what insurance is required in Colorado, there are several types of optional auto insurance coverages from which you can choose. These policies are often quite inexpensive, and they can save you from a major fiscal crisis in the future.
Below are some examples you may want to consider:
- Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist Coverage - More than one out of every seven drivers in Colorado does not obey the law and maintain liability auto insurance. Even though there are stiff penalties for uninsured motorists, they won't help you pay for your damaged vehicle or reimburse you for medical costs that you sustain in a crash. Uninsured (or underinsured) motorist coverage addresses these expenses in the event that you are victimized in a collision with someone who is not covered by any (or a substantial enough) auto insurance policy.
- Collision Coverage - If your vehicle is damaged in an accident for which you are held liable, your liability policy will not pay to get your own vehicle repaired and running again. But if you have collision coverage, you can take your vehicle to the repair shop and have it fixed as soon as you pay the deductible. And given that the average car repair bill is a few thousand dollars, getting collision coverage is a wise investment.
- Comprehensive Coverage - Think of "comprehensive" as another word for "everything that isn't a collision." Comprehensive coverage will reimburse you for costs that you incur if your vehicle is damaged by fire, vandalized, dented by sleet or hail, or even crushed in an avalanche. It also pays you if your car is stolen and not recovered in a usable condition.
- Higher Bodily Injury Limits - AIS strongly recommends that you increase the bodily injury limits on your liability policy above the minimum levels required by state law. Health care costs are expensive, and a single accident in which you injure multiple people can see those medical bills exceed the $50,000 maximum fairly easily. When that happens, the victims can come after your assets in court in order to make up the difference.
- Higher Property Damage Limits - Similarly, you may want to think about boosting the limits for your property damage coverage as well. If you happen to damage someone's private property or total an expensive vehicle, the state minimum of $15,000 may not be sufficient to cover all of the costs involved. Increasing these limits probably costs less than you think, and you'll have peace of mind knowing you won't be on the hook for unexpected expenses.
Again, these policies are not mandatory in the state of Colorado, but many drivers find them to be invaluable. For advice on which one of them may be suitable for your needs, contact a licensed insurance specialist at AIS.
Colorado Auto Insurance Discounts
There's no rule or law that says you have to pay too much for auto insurance in Colorado. Thankfully, there are a number of different discounts that are available to drivers throughout the state.
Here are some examples of auto insurance discounts:
- Safe driver
- Good student
- Accident free
- And more…
To learn more about specific discounts, visit our Discounts page.
People who call Colorado home love the Rocky Mountain air and the great outdoors. But they may not be as excited about wading through all of the details and fine print of their auto insurance policy. For these folks, Auto Insurance Specialists is there to provide all of the help and guidance that our customers may need. So feel free to give AIS a call today to assist you in simplifying the process of obtaining auto insurance in Colorado!
Start a Colorado Insurance Quote Today: (888) 772-4247