Compare Insurance Quotes From Multiple Companies
Why partner with AIS for your insurance needs?
We’re Auto Insurance Specialists and you can count on us to help you understand this new law and take advantage of the benefits. And, of course, we’re here to help you get insured to drive on California’s road as well. Why partner with AIS?
AIS has been in business over 45 years. You can trust us to help you find dependable, affordable insurance coverage.
Our special rating platform compares rates from about 30 top insurance brands to find the one with the best rates for you.
No Broker Fees
We're your agent and advocate. We don't charge broker fees on top of your policy premium--this saves you even more!
Frequently Asked AB60 Questions
What is AB60?
A: California Assembly Bill 60 (“AB 60”), the Safe and Responsible Driver Act – is a new law that was passed by the California State Legislature in September 2013. It requires the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to issue drivers licenses to undocumented residents over the age of 16 who can prove their identity and meet other requirements.
It is interesting to note that up until 1994, all immigrants had access to a driver’s license in California, regardless of immigration status. With AB 60, California joins a list of states allowing undocumented workers to drive legally, including: Connecticut, Colorado, Maryland, Oregon, New Mexico, Illinois, Washington, Nevada and Utah.
Q: When does it go into effect?
A: CA AB 60 went into effect on January 1, 2015.
Q: Does this new law affect me?
A: AB 60 may impact all California drivers, directly or indirectly.
- Undocumented residents: Undocumented residents will benefit most from the new law as it allows you to apply for a California driver’s license and drive legally on our roads with the protections that affords. It’s important to know that the citizenship status and residency information provided to get your license cannot be given to or used by police or other law enforcement to investigate, arrest or detain undocumented workers.
- Citizens and Legal Residents: Although there is no direct impact on US citizens and legal residents, AB 60 could bring more drivers onto California’s roads. The good news, however, is more drivers on the road will be licensed and insured making our roads safer for everyone.
Q: Is a license under AB 60 different?
A: An AB 60 license will have a visible mark, “Federal Limits Apply”, to indicate that it cannot be used for certain federal purposes.
Q: How much does a California driver’s license cost?
A: The current fee for a Class C (standard 4-axel vehicle) or Class M (motorcycle) license is $33.
Q: How do I apply for a California driver’s license?
A: You apply for a license by filling out an application form DL 44, and making an appointment at the DMV. Later, you will also need to schedule a driving test appointment.
- Application Form DL 44: This form is not available online but you can pick one up at a local DMV office. The DMV has opened additional offices for 2015. While you are there, be sure to pick up the California Driver Handbook.
Fyi, to get a license, you will need to:
- Study for the driver license exam
- Complete the application form DL 44
- Provide proof of identity and California residency
- Pass a vision test, written test and if applicable, a road sign test
- Give a thumb print
- Have a photo taken
- Schedule a future appointment for a “behind the wheel” driving test
- Note: Applicants under the age of 18 will also need to have proof they completed driver education training.
Q: Do I need to take a written or driving test?
A: Yes, you will need to take both a written and a driving test.
- Study using the CA Driver Handbook, which is available in several languages:
- Take some practice tests provided by the DMV in English and Spanish
- Your “behind the wheel” driving test lasts about 20 minutes and consists of basic maneuvers you encounter while driving. There are many ways to prepare:
- Get a lot of practice driving with friends or family who are licensed CA drivers
- Take a driver’s education driver training program
- Practice the maneuvers in the DMV’s Safe Driver Checklist
Q: Is proof of car insurance needed to get a driver’s license?
A: Yes, before you can take your “behind the wheel” driving test, you must show proof of insurance for the vehicle you are driving. This insurance must have at least California’s minimum insurance requirements.
Q: What are California’s auto insurance requirements?
A: There’s a big difference between the State’s insurance requirements and what YOU will want to protect your family and belongings.
California’s minimum requirements are 15/30/5. This means drivers need liability coverage of $15,000 for injury/death to one person, $30,000 for injury/death to more than one person and $5000 for damage to property. This only covers damage you cause to others, it does NOT cover your vehicle, medical bills, etc.
We recommend you talk to an insurance specialist to assess your needs and help you choose a policy that protects you and fits your budget. Most drivers choose to have higher liability limits and include optional coverages such as collision, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, rental car or medical payments coverage as well.
Q: Where can I get advice on finding good, affordable auto insurance?
A: Good auto coverage is available from many insurance companies or agents. If you are new to buying insurance, it’s important to know two things:
- Insurance rates can vary widely from one company to the next, so you should compare rates
- You do NOT need to pay high broker fees to get or keep auto insurance.
Here’s why you should come to Auto Insurance Specialists to get your policy:
- We have been licensed in California since 1968
- We represent only reputable licensed insurance companies
- We can compare the rates of over 30 companies for you at once to find the lowest rate
- We understand California’s insurance requirements and can guide you to the coverage that fits your budget and lifestyle
- We never charge broker fees