AIS Update on COVID-19: To all auto insurance customers, insurance companies may be issuing premium reductions and relief. We've provided a list of insurance companies and additional information. Learn more.
The Beaver State
Compare Oregon Auto Insurance Quotes From Multiple Companies
Oregon Auto Insurance
Oregon drivers are legally required to carry Auto Insurance, even if the trek through the Oregon Trail isn’t nearly as dangerous as it was in the 1800s. Even in modern times, getting behind the wheel exposes you to the risk of a car accident and other types of accidents that could cause damage to your vehicle. This could include significant damages from floods, fire, storms and vandalism, and you won’t want to pay for those repairs out of your own pocket. That’s why Oregon requires you to have at least some Auto Insurance.
Auto Insurance rates in Oregon can vary more than you might think from one insurance company to another. That’s where Auto Insurance Specialists can help!
Use our simple form for an AIS Instant Quote®. This quote will be a range of our Auto Insurance partners' rates for the coverage you select, and you can choose from our top-rated affordable carriers.
Required Auto Insurance in Oregon
You would be hard pressed to find a state that doesn’t require its drivers to carry Auto Insurance. Nearly every state in the country mandates some form of coverage. The types and levels of coverage, however, vary from state to state. In Oregon, drivers must carry Liability Insurance, Personal Injury Protection and Uninsured Motorist Coverage. Liability Insurance covers (up to your policy’s limits) the other driver’s medical expenses and property damage following an accident that you were at fault for. Liability Insurance excludes any injuries you sustain and damages to your own car. Personal Injury Protection (PIP) covers some medical expenses you may incur following an accident, regardless of who was at fault. Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage helps pay for damages and injuries you sustain if you were hit by an uninsured or underinsured motorist.
State Minimum Liability Coverage in Oregon
- BI or Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person, $50,000 total per accident
- PD or Property Damage: $20,000 per accident
State Minimum Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage in Oregon
- BI or Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
State Minimum Personal Injury Protection (PIP) in Oregon
- PIP or Personal Injury Protection: $15,000 per accident
To learn more about specific Auto Insurance coverage, visit our Car Insurance Coverage page.
Optional Coverage in Oregon
Oregon has pretty well-rounded Auto Insurance requirements compared to other states, but the state-mandated minimums are still missing coverages you may want to consider adding to your policy. Also, you may want to consider higher limits than those required by the state of Oregon, as driving without enough Car Insurance can put you in a financial crisis.
Below are some examples you may want to consider:
- Collision Coverage*: Liability Insurance does not help pay for your own car’s damages after an accident, but Collision coverage does. Following a collision that you were at fault for, car repair bills could be significant. The national average repair costs following a collision are almost $3,000. Without Collision coverage, those costs could be yours to pay alone.
- Comprehensive Coverage*: There are many ways your car could sustain damage, and not all of them are from other vehicles. Fire, hail, floods, storms and more could leave you with serious repair bills. Comprehensive coverage could help ease the pressure of those costs.
- Higher Bodily Injury Limits: Accidents that result in injuries can be extremely costly for the at-fault party. Consider ambulance rides, doctor visits, treatment and other medical bills. The minimum BI coverage may not be enough to cover it all. Choosing a policy with a higher BI limit could save you from substantial medical bills.
- Higher Property Damage Limits: When you consider all the damage that can be done during an accident, the minimum $20,000 PD requirement may not be enough. After car repairs, you must consider light poles, fences, buildings and more that you may be held responsible for replacing or repairing after an accident.
*Although Collision coverage and Comprehensive coverage are not required by law, they may be required in your car loan or lease contract with the lender.
Now, it’s certainly not a legal requirement to buy these optional levels and types of coverage, but it may benefit you to consider adding them to your Auto Insurance policy. Speak with an AIS agent today, as these additional coverages may not be as costly to add as you think.
Most Stolen Car Models in Oregon
There are multiple factors that go into calculating your Auto Insurance premium, including the risk of your car getting stolen. Certain car models attract thieves more than others. According to the www.nicb.org, these are the top 10 cars that get stolen in Oregon:
- Honda Accord
- Honda Civic
- Subaru Legacy
- Ford Pickup (Full Size)
- Honda CR-V
- Toyota Camry
- Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)
- Subaru Impreza
- Acura Integra
- Toyota Pickup
Oregon Auto Insurance Discounts
You can find discounts on pretty much anything and Auto Insurance is no exception. Don’t miss out on money-savers just because you don’t know about them. It’s possible you qualify for more than you think. At AIS, we know all about Auto Insurance and the available discounts. Speak with an Insurance Specialist today to see which discounts you qualify for.
Examples of these Oregon Car Insurance discounts may include:
- Safe Driver
- Good Student
- Accident Free
To learn more about specific discounts, visit our Discounts page.
Oregon residents get to enjoy sandy beaches, lush forests, windsurfing and skiing. But like anywhere you may choose to live, there are hazards that require Oregonians to have Auto Insurance protection. AIS can help you find the best rates and answer your questions on all things Auto Insurance. For more information and a quick free quote, call AIS today!