AIS Update on COVID-19:  To all auto insurance customers, insurance companies may be issuing premium reductions and relief. We've provided a list of insurance companies and additional information.  Learn more.

AUTO INSURANCE GUIDELINES BY STATE

Do you know which insurance coverages are required by your state?

Auto Insurance at a Minimum

Almost all states in the U.S. require drivers to carry Auto Insurance. The is because accidents happen to everyone. That's why if you choose not to purchase the minimum Auto Insurance coverage required by your state, you may face fines and even have your license and registration revoked. 

Although it is required almost everywhere, Car Insurance can be complicated and confusing. Your rates may vary more than you think when comparing one insurance company to another. To avoid confusion, let AIS help you with all your insurance needs. Our licensed Auto Insurance Specialists are happy to share their knowledge and guide you through every step of the way to getting the policy you need. 

We also find you the best combination of coverage and price. How do we do it? By comparing multiple reputable carriers in minutes at no cost to you.

Have a few minutes? Start your free quote or call us at (888) 772-4247

Understanding Auto Insurance in Your State

To learn the minimum requirements for your state, first understand how to read the chart below.

  1. Bodily Injury Liability minimum for one person in an accident
  2. Bodily Injury Liability minimum for all people injured in an accident
  3. Property Damage Liability minimum for one accident

For example, if you live in California, the 15/30/5 represents the minimum Liability Insurance limits of $15,000 for Bodily Injury for one person, $30,000 Bodily Injury for all injuries and $5,000 for Property Damage in an accident. These numbers are the amount of Liablity Insurance you are required to carry in your state. Your insurance company will only pay up to these limits if you are found at-fault in an accident. Therefore, you are responsible for any costs that occur over and above these limits.

To learn more about what these terms mean, visit our Car Insurance Coverages page.

Minimum Liability Insurance Requirements by State

Alabama:
20/40/10

Hawaii:
20/40/10

Michigan:
20/40/10

North Carolina:
30/60/25

Utah:
25/65/15

Alaska:
50/100/25

Idaho:
20/50/15

Minnesota:
30/60/10

North Dakota:
25/50/25

Vermont:
25/50/10

Arizona:
15/30/10

Illinois:
20/40/15

Mississippi:
25/50/25

Ohio:
25/50/25

Virginia:
25/50/20

Arkansas:
25/50/15

Indiana:
25/50/10

Missouri:
25/50/10

Oklahoma:
10/20/10

Washington:
25/50/10

California:
15/30/5

Iowa:
20/40/15

Montana:
25/50/10

Oregon:
25/50/10

West Virginia:
20/40/10

Colorado:
25/50/15

Kansas:
25/50/10

Nebraska:
25/50/25

Pennsylvania:
15/30/5

Wisconsin:
25/50/10

Connecticut:
20/40/10

Kentucky:
25/50/10

Nevada:
15/30/10

Rhode Island:
25/50/25

Wyoming:
25/50/20

Delaware:
15/30/5

Louisiana:
10/20/10

New Hampshire:
25/50/25

South Carolina:
25/50/25

District of Columbia:
25/50/5

Maine:
50/100/25

New Jersey:
15/30/5

South Dakota:
25/50/25

Florida:
10/20/10

Maryland:
20/40/10

New Mexico:
25/50/10

Tennessee:
25/50/10

Georgia:
15/30/10
Massachusetts:
20/40/5
New York:
25/50/10
Texas:
30/60/25


Optional Car Insurance Coverages

Sometimes, state minimums leave you financially vulnerable in other areas. We recommend that you consider additional coverage options and higher limits, as carrying too-little Car Insurance could cost you.

Some additional coverages you should consider are:

With over 50 years of Auto Insurance shopping experience, AIS can help you find the coverage that's right for you.